Holiday & Winter Closing Schedule

Please note the following:

  • The schedule includes additional holiday time granted by the governor, as denoted by an *.
  • Faculty members do not receive the holidays listed as staff only, when the university is open.
  • Any additional time off granted by the governor will be announced as soon as we are notified.
  • For additional information on Winter Break Closing, which occurs between Dec. 25 and Jan. 1 each year, see Guidelines on Holidays (Policy No. 4315).

2019 schedule

Holiday Date
New Year's Day
  • Tuesday, Jan. 1, 2019
Lee-Jackson Day
  • Friday, Jan. 18, 2019
    (Staff only–university open)
Martin Luther King Jr. Day 
  • Monday, Jan. 21, 2019
George Washington Day
  • Monday, Feb. 18, 2019 
    (Staff only-university open)
Memorial Day
  • Monday, May 27, 2019
Independence Day
  • Thursday, July 4, 2019
  • Friday, July 5, 2019
    (University open; eligible faculty and staff receive 8 hours additonal holiday leave)
Labor Day
  • Monday, Sept. 2, 2019
Columbus Day and
Indigenous People's Day
  • Monday, Oct. 14, 2019 
    (Staff only–university open)
Veteran's Day (observed)
  • Monday, Nov. 11, 2019 
    (Staff only–university open)
Thanksgiving
  • Wednesday, Nov. 27, 2019* 
    (Close at noon. 4 hours additional holiday leave)  
  • Thursday,  Nov. 28, 2019  
  • Friday, Nov. 29, 2019
Winter Closing
  • Tuesday, Dec. 24, 2019* 
    (8 hours additional holiday leave)
  • Wednesday, Dec. 25 2019
  • Thursday, Dec. 26, 2019 
    (Not a holiday, Employees must use leave)
  • Friday, Dec. 27, 2019 
    (Not a holiday. Employees must use leave)
  • Monday, Dec. 30, 2019 
    (Not a holiday. Employees must use leave)
  • Tuesday, Dec. 31, 2019 
    (Not a holiday. Employees must use leave)

2020 Schedule

Holiday Date
New Year's Day
  • Wednesday, Jan. 1, 2020
Lee-Jackson Day
  • Friday, Jan. 17, 2020
  • (Staff only–university open)
Martin Luther King Jr. Day 
  • Monday, Jan. 20, 2020
George Washington Day
  • Monday, Feb. 17, 2020
    (Staff only-university open)
Memorial Day
  • Monday, May 25, 2020
Independence Day
  • Friday, July 3, 2020
Labor Day
  • Monday, Sept. 7, 2020
Columbus Day
  • Monday, Oct. 12, 2020
    (Staff only–university open)
Veteran's Day (observed)
  • Wednesday, Nov. 11, 2020
    (Staff only–university open)
Thanksgiving
  • Wednesday, Nov. 25, 2020* 
    (Close at noon. 4 hours additional holiday leave)  
  • Thursday,  Nov. 26, 2020 
  • Friday, Nov. 27, 2020
Winter Closing
  • Thursday, Dec. 24, 2020* 
    (8 hours additional holiday leave)
  • Friday, Dec. 25 2020
  • Monday, Dec. 28, 2020
    (Not a holiday, Employees must use leave)
  • Tuesday, Dec. 29, 2020
    (Not a holiday. Employees must use leave)
  • Wednesday, Dec. 30, 2020
    (Not a holiday. Employees must use leave)
  • Thursday, Dec. 31, 2020
    (Not a holiday. Employees must use leave)