Virginia Tech®home

Holiday & Winter Closing Schedule

Please note the following:

  • The schedule includes additional holiday time granted by the governor, as denoted by an *.
  • Faculty members do not receive holiday comp time on the holidays listed as "staff only" when the university is open.
  • Any additional time off granted by the governor will be announced as soon as we are notified.
  • For additional information on Winter Break Closing, which occurs between Dec. 25 and Jan. 1 each year, see Policy No. 4315: Guidelines on Holidays.

2021 Schedule

Holiday Date
New Year's Day 
  • Friday, Jan. 1, 2021
Martin Luther King Jr. Day 
  • Monday, Jan. 18, 2021
George Washington Day
  • Monday, Feb. 15, 2021
    (Staff only-university open)
Memorial Day
  • Monday, May 31, 2021
Juneteenth (observed)
  • Friday, June 18, 2021
Independence Day (observed)
  • Monday, July 5, 2021
Labor Day
  • Monday, Sept. 6, 2021
Columbus Day
  • Monday, Oct. 11, 2021
    (Staff only–university open)

 NOTE: Virginia Tech also recognizes Indigenous People's Day each year on the second Monday in October.

Election Day  
  • Tuesday, Nov. 2, 2021
    (Staff only–university open)
Veteran's Day
  • Thursday, Nov. 11, 2021
    (Staff only–university open)
Thanksgiving
  • Wednesday, Nov. 24, 2021* 
    (Close at noon. 4 hours additional holiday leave)  
  • Thursday,  Nov. 25, 2021 
  • Friday, Nov. 26, 2021
Winter Break Closing
  • Thursday, Dec. 23, 2021* 
    (8 hours additional holiday leave)
  • Friday, Dec. 24, 2021
  • Monday, Dec. 27, 2021
    (Not a holiday, Employees must use leave)
  • Tuesday, Dec. 28, 2021
    (Not a holiday. Employees must use leave)
  • Wednesday, Dec. 29, 2021
    (Not a holiday. Employees must use leave)
  • Thursday, Dec. 30, 2021
    (Not a holiday. Employees must use leave)
  • Friday, Dec. 31, 2021

NOTE: Friday, Dec. 31, 2021 is the observed holiday date for Jan. 1, 2022, which falls on a Saturday. 

 

2022 Schedule

Holiday Date
New Year's Day 
(observed)
  • Friday, Dec. 31, 2021

NOTE: Friday, Dec. 31, 2021 is the observed holiday date for Jan. 1, 2022, which falls on a Saturday. 

Martin Luther King Jr. Day 
  • Monday, Jan. 17, 2022
George Washington Day
  • Monday, Feb. 21, 2022
    (Staff only-university open)
Memorial Day
  • Monday, May 30, 2022
Independence Day
  • Monday, July 4, 2022
Labor Day
  • Monday, Sept. 5, 2022
Columbus Day
  • Monday, Oct. 10, 2022
    (Staff only–university open)

 NOTE: Virginia Tech also recognizes Indigenous People's Day each year on the second Monday in October.

Election Day  
  • Tuesday, Nov. 8, 2022
    (Staff only–university open)
Veteran's Day
  • Friday, Nov. 11, 2022
    (Staff only–university open)
Thanksgiving
  • Wednesday, Nov. 23, 2022* 
    (Close at noon. 4 hours additional holiday leave)  
  • Thursday,  Nov. 24, 2022 
  • Friday, Nov. 25, 2022
Winter Break Closing
  • Friday, Dec. 23, 2022* 
    (8 hours additional holiday leave)
  • Monday, Dec. 26, 2022
  • Tuesday, Dec. 27, 2022
    (Not a holiday. Employees must use leave)
  • Wednesday, Dec. 28, 2022
    (Not a holiday. Employees must use leave)
  • Thursday, Dec. 29, 2022
    (Not a holiday. Employees must use leave)
  • Friday, Dec. 30, 2022
    (Not a holiday.  Employees must use leave)