Skip Menu

Follow VaTechJobs on Twitter   Follow VaTechJobs on Facebook   Subscribe to the HR RSS
Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

President’s Award for Excellence

Initiated in 1990 by President James McComas, the President’s Award for Excellence was established to recognize the outstanding contributions and consistently excellent performance of salaried classified and university staff employees, as well as certain administrative and professional faculty personnel.  

The committee also recommends to the president any nominees who should be forwarded to the Governor’s office for consideration for a Governor’s Award.


All Virginia Tech salaried staff at any pay band level, as well as some administrative or professional faculty, with at least two years of university service are eligible for consideration. Specific exclusions for the award are instructional faculty, research faculty, academic department heads, deans, assistant and associate deans, vice presidents, assistant and associate vice presidents, assistant and associate provosts, extension agents, and wage employees.  

Nominations may be made by any employee; however, self-nominations are not acceptable. Previous award recipients are not eligible until five years after receiving the award. 


Nominations for the 2014 period are now are closed. Information about nominations is typically updated around the beginning of the year.


Nominations are accepted each winter and reviewed by a committee of staff members and administrative and professional faculty members appointed by the president, who makes the final decision.

As many as five employees are selected each year. Of the five awards given, at least three are awarded to employees who work in positions at pay band 4 or below.


Each recipient will receive a letter of commendation from the President, a framed certificate, and a $2,000 award.

For more information, contact Sherri Albert at 540-231-7784.

Contact Us

HR Service Center
Hours: 7:30 a.m.-5 p.m.
Telephone: 540-231-9331
Fax: 540-231-3830
Start a Chat

Nominate an employee for an award

2012 Recipients

  • Bonnie Alberts
  • Susan Haymore
  • Ellen Krupar
  • Jim Stroup
  • Charles S. "Stanley" Williams

Past recipients