2017 schedule

New Year's Day (observed) Monday, Jan. 2, 2017
Lee-Jackson Day Friday, Jan. 13, 2017
(Staff only–university open)
Martin Luther King Jr. Day 
Monday, Jan. 16, 2017
George Washington Day Monday, Feb. 20, 2017
(Staff only-university open)
Memorial Day Monday, May 29, 2017
Independence Day Monday, July 3, 2017*
Tuesday, July 4, 2017
Labor Day Monday, Sept. 4, 2017
Columbus Day Monday, Oct. 9, 2017
(Staff only–university open)
Veteran's Day Friday, Nov. 10, 2017
(Staff only–university open)
Thanksgiving Wednesday, Nov. 22, 2017*
(Close at noon. 4 hours additional holiday leave)  
Thursday,  Nov. 23, 2017  
Friday, Nov. 24, 2017
Winter Closing Friday, Dec. 22, 2017* 
(Close at noon. 4 hours additional holiday leave)
Monday, Dec. 25 2017
Tuesday, Dec. 26, 2017* 
(8 hours additional holiday leave)
Wednesday, Dec. 27, 2017 
(Not a holiday. Employees must use leave)
Thursday, Dec. 28, 2017 
(Not a holiday. Employees must use leave)
Friday, Dec. 29, 2017 
(Not a holiday. Employees must use leave)
  • The schedule includes additional holiday time granted by the governor, as denoted by an *.
  • Faculty members do not receive the holidays listed as staff only, when the university is open.
  • Any additional time off granted by the governor will be announced as soon as we are notified.

Contact

Leave Team
Department of Human Resources
North End Center, Suite 2300 (0318)
300 Turner Street NW
Blacksburg, VA 24061

Hours
8 a.m.-5 p.m.

Email
hrleave@vt.edu

Claudia Cornwell
Leave Programs Supervisor

540-231-1237

Rebecca Hubble
Leave Analyst (A-L)
540-231-5304

Michelle Caldwell-Sadler
Leave Analyst (M-Z)
540-231-8913